Chaplet of the Seven Sorrows of Our Lady in Bronze

US$ 260.00

The Chaplet of the Seven Sorrows is a beautiful tradition in the Church and allows a soul to walk the “Via Matris” (Way of the Mother), following Mary who kept all of these sorrows in her heart. This chaplet is made with quality garnet gemstones beads and true bronze wire and medals of the 7 sorrows.


Mary suffered the seven great swords of her life and the multitude of little swords. All of them were the cost of mothering the earth’s Redeemer and His members. Calvary was the climax of her sorrows.

The Chaplet of the Seven Sorrows of Our Lady has 7 sets of 7 beads, with a separating medal between each set, and 3 additional beads and a medal.

The Chaplet of the Seven Sorrows of Our Lady – Rosary Parts Include:

Devotion to the Sorrowful Mother
Devotion to the Sorrowful Mother Booklet Included!

Beads: Garnet Semiprecious Stone Beads 8 mm
8 Medals Set: Seven Sorrows Medal Set 5/8″ or 16 mm, true bronze
Rosary Center: Seven Sorrows 3/4″  (19 mm), true bronze
All medals and the rosary center are handmade, cast in true bronze using the ancient lost wax method, and antiqued to recapture the original appearance of the designs.
Bead Caps: Brass
Wire: Bronze
Method: Wire-wrapped by hand
Total Length:  23.5″ (59.5 cm)
Gift box:  Included


About the Devotion to Our Lady of Sorrows

Chaplet of the Seven Sorrows of Our Lady
Bronze Chaplet of the Seven Sorrows of Our Lady is also available.

Devotion to Our Lady of Sorrows is very ancient and over time pious customs have been developed to enter into the heart of Mary that was pierced so “thoughts out of many hearts may be revealed” (Luke 2:35). One such custom owes its origin to the Servite Order founded by a group called the Seven Holy Founders in 1233. From the very beginning they sought to live a life dedicated to Our Lady of Sorrows. Through their spirituality they developed what has been called the “Servite Rosary”,  also known as the “Chaplet of the Seven Sorrows of Mary.” It recalls seven events in the life of Mary when she experienced great sorrow.

They are as follows:

  1. The Prophecy of Simeon (Luke 2:34–35)
  2. The Flight into Egypt (Matthew 2:13)
  3. The Loss of the Child Jesus in the Temple of Jerusalem (Luke 2:43–45)
  4. The Meeting of Mary and Jesus on his Way to Calvary (traditional)
  5. Standing at the Foot of the Cross (John 19:25)
  6. Jesus Being Taken Down from the Cross (Matthew 27:57–59)
  7. The Burial of Jesus (John 19:40–42)Bronze Chaplet of the Seven Sorrows of Our Lady

How to Pray the Chaplet of the Seven Sorrows of Mary

Please use the Servite Rosary link for instructions.

According to St. Bridget of Sweden (1303-1373), seven promises were made to those who meditate on Our Lady’s Tears and Sorrows. The Blessed Virgin grants seven graces to the souls who honour her daily by saying seven Hail Marys while meditating on her tears and Sorrows.

These are:

  1.  “I will grant peace to their families.”
  2.  “They will be enlightened about the Divine Mysteries.”
  3. “I will console them in their pains and I will accompany them in their work.”
  4.  “I will give them as much as they ask for as long as it does not oppose the adorable will of my Divine Son or the sanctification of their souls.”
  5. “I will defend them in their spiritual battles with the infernal enemy and I will protect them at every instant of their lives.”
  6. “I will visibly help them at the moment of their death – they will see the face of their mother.”
  7. “I have obtained this grace from my Divine Son, that those who propagate this devotion to my tears and Sorrows will be taken directly from this earthly life to eternal happiness, since all their sins will be forgiven and my Son will be their eternal consolation and joy.”


On September 26th, 1724, Pope Benedict XIII granted an indulgence of two hundred days for every “Our Father” and every “Hail Mary” to those who, with sincere contrition, and having confessed, or firmly purposing to confess their sins, shall recite this Chaplet on any Friday, or on any day of Lent, on the Festival of the Seven Sorrows, or within the Octave; and one hundred days on any other day of the year.

On December 12, 1734, Pope Clement XII confirmed these indulgences, and moreover granted:

  • A Plenary indulgence to those who shall have recited this Chaplet for a month every day – Confession, Communion and Prayers for the Church, required as usual.
  • An indulgence of one hundred years to all who should recite it on any day, having confessed their sins, with sincere sorrow, or at least firmly purposing to do so.
  • One hundred and fifty years to those who should recite it on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, and Holidays of obligation, with Confession and Communion.
  •  A Plenary indulgence once a year, on any day, to those who are accustomed to recite it four times a week, on condition of Confession, Communion, and the Recital of the Chaplet on the day of Communion.
  • Two hundred years’ indulgence to all who recite it devoutly after Confession; and to all who carry it about them, and frequently recite it, ten years’ indulgence every time they shall hear Mass, hear a sermon, or reciting Our Father, and seven Hail Marys, shall perform any spiritual or corporal work of mercy, in honor of our Blessed Saviour, the Blessed Virgin Mary, or any Saint, their advocate.

All these indulgences were confirmed by a decree of January 17th, 1747, and rendered applicable to the souls in Purgatory.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Related Products