The Seven Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary Chaplet

US$ 325.00

Chaplet Rosary Mater Dolorosa is the Devotion of the Seven Dolors of the Blessed Virgin Mary, also often referred as the Seven Sorrows of Our Lady. From our own workshop, this chaplet is made of quality garnet gemstones beads and all sterling silver parts. Traditionally wire-wrapped by hand, we make our rosaries virtually unbreakable.


Chaplet Rosary Mater Dolorosa is the Devotion of the Seven Dolors of the Blessed Virgin Mary, also often referred as the Seven Sorrows of Our Lady.

The Seven Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary Chaplet – Parts Include:

Devotion to the Sorrowful Mother
Devotion to the Sorrowful Mother Booklet Included!

Beads: Garnet Semiprecious Stone Beads 7 mm
Rosary Center: Seven Sorrows, Sterling Silver 0.925
Bead Caps: Sterling Silver 0.925
Wire: Sterling Silver
Method:  Wire-wrapped by hand
Total Length
Gift box:  Included

This chaplet can also be produced in 14K gold-filled, or 14K solid gold rosary parts, under a custom rosary project. We also make other variations of this chaplet: Chaplet of the Seven Sorrows, usually made to order.

About The Seven Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary Chaplet

As for the Chaplet of the Seven Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary, it reminds us that Mary plays a key role in our Redemption and that she suffered along with her Son Jesus to save us. It is prayed using this special rosary comprised of seven “decades” containing seven beads each. You can find detailed prayer guide on our next page: “Servite Rosary”.

The feast of Mater Dolorosa – Our Lady of Sorrows, dates back to the 12th century. It was especially promoted by the Cistercians and the Servites, so much so that in the 14th and 15th centuries it was widely celebrated throughout the Catholic Church. In 1482 the feast was added to the Missal under the title of “Our Lady of Compassion.” Pope Benedict XIII added it to the Roman Calendar in 1727 on the Friday before Palm Sunday. In 1913, Pope Pius X fixed the date on September 15. The title “Our Lady of Sorrows” focuses on Mary’s intense suffering during the passion and death of Christ. “The Seven Dolors,” the title by which it was celebrated in the 17th century, referred to the seven swords that pierced the Heart of Mary. The feast is like an octave for the birthday of Our Lady on September 8th. -Excerpted from Our Lady of Sorrows by Fr. Paul Haffner (Inside the Vatican, September 2004)

This devotion recalls seven events in the life of Mary when she experienced great sorrow.

They are as follows:

  1. The Prophecy of Simeon (Luke 2:34–35)
  2. The Flight into Egypt (Matthew 2:13)
  3. The Loss of the Child Jesus in the Temple of Jerusalem (Luke 2:43–45)
  4. The Meeting of Mary and Jesus on his Way to Calvary (traditional)
  5. Standing at the Foot of the Cross (John 19:25)
  6. Jesus Being Taken Down from the Cross (Matthew 27:57–59)
  7. The Burial of Jesus (John 19:40–42)

According to St. Bridget of Sweden (1303-1373), seven promises were made to those who meditate on Our Lady’s Tears and Sorrows. The Blessed Virgin grants seven graces to the souls who honour her daily by saying seven Hail Marys while meditating on her tears and Sorrows.

These are:

  1.  “I will grant peace to their families.”
  2.  “They will be enlightened about the Divine Mysteries.”
  3. “I will console them in their pains and I will accompany them in their work.”
  4.  “I will give them as much as they ask for as long as it does not oppose the adorable will of my Divine Son or the sanctification of their souls.”
  5. “I will defend them in their spiritual battles with the infernal enemy and I will protect them at every instant of their lives.”
  6. “I will visibly help them at the moment of their death – they will see the face of their mother.”
  7. “I have obtained this grace from my Divine Son, that those who propagate this devotion to my tears and Sorrows will be taken directly from this earthly life to eternal happiness, since all their sins will be forgiven and my Son will be their eternal consolation and joy.”


On September 26th, 1724, Pope Benedict XIII granted an indulgence of two hundred days for every “Our Father” and every “Hail Mary” to those who, with sincere contrition, and having confessed, or firmly purposing to confess their sins, shall recite this Chaplet on any Friday, or on any day of Lent, on the Festival of the Seven Sorrows, or within the Octave; and one hundred days on any other day of the year.

On December 12, 1734, Pope Clement XII confirmed these indulgences, and moreover granted:

  • A Plenary indulgence to those who shall have recited this Chaplet for a month every day – Confession, Communion and Prayers for the Church, required as usual.
  • An indulgence of one hundred years to all who should recite it on any day, having confessed their sins, with sincere sorrow, or at least firmly purposing to do so.
  • One hundred and fifty years to those who should recite it on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, and Holidays of obligation, with Confession and Communion.
  •  A Plenary indulgence once a year, on any day, to those who are accustomed to recite it four times a week, on condition of Confession, Communion, and the Recital of the Chaplet on the day of Communion.
  • Two hundred years’ indulgence to all who recite it devoutly after Confession; and to all who carry it about them, and frequently recite it, ten years’ indulgence every time they shall hear Mass, hear a sermon, or reciting Our Father, and seven Hail Marys, shall perform any spiritual or corporal work of mercy, in honor of our Blessed Saviour, the Blessed Virgin Mary, or any Saint, their advocate.

All these indulgences were confirmed by a decree of January 17th, 1747, and rendered applicable to the souls in Purgatory.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Related Products